proetcon.de > Company > Success Stories > MAN Truck & Bus
Success Stories MAN Truck & Bus Amadeus Germany

SUCCESSFUL MIGRATION PROJECT "MODERNISATION OF USER INTERFACES" AT MAN Truck & Bus AG

[MAN Truck & Bus AG]
Chemnitz and Munich, Germany – 16th January 2014:
The company pro et con Innovative Informatikanwendungen GmbH, leader of technology in the field of software migration, and the MAN Truck & Bus AG today announced the successful completion of a common software migration project.

Content of the project realised in the term July to December 2013 was the automatic migration of simple, text-oriented screen masks into modern, user-friendly, graphic-oriented user interfaces. Thereby technologies and tools of pro et con were used.

The highly complex program systems "WMX2000", used in the Munich plant, plan, control and monitor the production processes in truck and bus production. Ca. 800 ASCII-based screen masks offer the possibility to get information about and to control the production process. This screen masks work over decades robust, but regarding design and user guidance before the modernisation they didn't meet current requirements any longer.

[MaTriX] The migration tool MaTriX (mask transformation in server-based systems) developed by pro et con realises the modernisation of the no longer up-to-date, ASCII-oriented screen masks essentially automatic. This significantly reduces the project costs and the project term in comparison with a manual conversion.

"The new interfaces available after the migration not only comply with the modern MAN-CI, but furthermore offer all elements of a modern user interaction", comments Curd Maier, Head of CC Production Planning & Control and project manager at MAN. "So on the one hand modern functionalities for displaying and processing the production-relevant information are available, on the other hand an optimisation and flexibilisation of the system architecture is reached."

For further information about pro et con's competences in the field of software migration, see Software Migration.
DOWNLOAD
All documents are in German.
[PDF] Success story

proetcon.de > Unternehmen > Success Stories > MAN Truck & Bus
ITZBund MAN Truck & Bus Amadeus Germany

ERFOLGREICHES MIGRATIONSPROJEKT "MODERNISIERUNG VON BENUTZEROBERFLÄCHEN" BEI MAN Truck & Bus AG

[MAN Truck & Bus AG]
Chemnitz und München, Deutschland – 16. Januar 2014:
Die Firma pro et con Innovative Informatikanwendungen GmbH, Technologieführer auf dem Gebiet der Software-Migration, und die MAN Truck & Bus AG gaben heute den erfolgreichen Abschluss eines gemeinsamen Software-Migrationsprojektes bekannt.

Inhalt des im Zeitraum Juli bis Dezember 2013 realisierten Projektes war die automatische Migration einfacher, textorientierter Bildschirmmasken in moderne, nutzerfreundliche, grafikorientierte Benutzeroberflächen. Dabei kamen Technologien und Werkzeuge der Firma pro et con zum Einsatz.

Die im Werk München eingesetzten, hochkomplexen Programmsysteme "WMX2000" planen, steuern und überwachen die Produktionsprozesse in der LKW- und Bus-Produktion. Ca. 800 ASCII-basierte Bildschirmmasken bieten die Möglichkeit, sich über den Produktionsablauf zu informieren bzw. diesen zu steuern. Diese Bildschirmmasken arbeiteten über Jahrzehnte robust, entsprachen vor der realisierten Modernisierung allerdings in Design und Bedienerführung nicht mehr aktuellen Ansprüchen.

[MaTriX] Das von pro et con entwickelte Migrationstool MaTriX (Maskentransformation in serverbasierten Systemen) realisiert die Modernisierung der nicht mehr zeitgemäßen ASCII-orientierten Bildschirmmasken im Wesentlichen automatisch, was die Projektkosten und den Zeitraum gegenüber einer manuellen Umstellung deutlich verkürzt.

"Die nach der Migration verfügbaren, neuen Oberflächen entsprechen nicht nur dem modernen MAN-CI, sondern bieten darüber hinaus alle Elemente einer modernen Benutzerinteraktion", kommentiert Curd Maier, Head of CC Production Planning & Control und Projektleiter bei MAN. "Dadurch stehen einerseits moderne Funktionalitäten zur Bearbeitung und Anzeige der produktionsrelevanten Informationen zur Verfügung, andererseits wird eine Optimierung und Flexibilisierung der Systemarchitektur erreicht."

Weitere Informationen zu den Kompetenzen von pro et con auf dem Gebiet der Software-Migration finden Sie im Bereich Software-Migration.
DOWNLOAD
[PDF] Success Story