proetcon.de > Software Migration > BS2 MigMan > Migration Aspects
BS2 MigMan Migration Aspects Download

SELECTED MIGRATION ASPECTS

The accompanying graphic exemplary outlines the architecture of a BS2000 COBOL application and the resulting target system – in this case a Java system. The individual components of the basic system are converted tool-supported and thus automatically in the corresponding components of the target system.
[Basic and target system]
The migration of the individual components of the basic system will be described below.

Program migration

The migration of the programs will be done depending on the base and target programming language with the following tools:
  • [CoJaC] CoJaC (COBOL to Java Converter): This tool accomplishes the conversion of COBOL programs into Java. CoJaC converts embedded, static SQL statements to dynamic SQL statements. A Java runtime system contains methods for managing the database access and connection, for reading and writing data into host variables and for error handling.
  • C2C (COBOL to COBOL Converter): This tool converts COBOL programs from the dialect of the basic system to the dialect of the target system. Thereby the adaptation of incompatible commands or interfaces (e.g. file interface, middleware etc.) can be realised according to customer's requirements.
  • S2C (SPL to C++ Translator): This tool realises the conversion of SPL (System Programming Language) into C++.
  • S2P (SDF to Perl Translator): For the conversion of the SDF procedures (System Dialog Facility) into Perl the S2P tool is available. The generated Perl scripts use a runtime system, which emulates important features of the basic system (working with job variables, user and job switches, ...).

Database and file migration

[FiRe] During the migration, the data files used under BS2000 are transferred into database tables. In coordination with the customer LEASY, ISAM and possibly also SAM files are migrated with our tool FiRe automatically. The table structure is derived from the record structure, which is defined in the COBOL programs. The runtime system encapsulates the database access and provides methods for mapping the COBOL statements for file processing. If there exists already a database, so we also offer the possibility of an automated change of the database system including a dialect migration of the existing SQL statements.

Middleware migration

The middleware UTM (Universal Transaction Monitor) can be replaced by our tool MidaS. UTM is used among others for controlling the dialogue programs, information exchange and user management. MidaS is designed as a Java Web Service with a SOAP interface. It emulates the required middleware functionality in the migrated COBOL or Java servers: encoding/decoding and forwarding the message, coordinating of the call sequence of the dialogue programs and masks and session management. MidaS can act as a standalone program. So it is not mandatory to use an application server such as WebSphere or JBoss.

Alternatively, we also support an automated change to another, commercial middleware product.

Screen mask migration

There are several options for screen mask migration, any of which can be carried out according to customers' requests:
  1. [MaTriX] Automated migration: The screen masks can be converted automatically by our tool MaTriX into Web-2.0-based user interfaces.
  2. New development: The screen masks can be newly developed corresponding to customers' requests, e.g., as JavaServer Pages.
DOWNLOAD
All documents are in German.
[PDF] BS2 MigMan datasheet
[PDF] Project report Amadeus Germany

proetcon.de > Software-Migration > BS2 MigMan > Migrationsaspekte
BS2 MigMan Migrationsaspekte Download

AUSGEWÄHLTE ASPEKTE DER MIGRATION

Die untenstehende Grafik skizziert beispielhaft die Architektur einer BS2000-COBOL-Applikation und das daraus resultierende Zielsystem – in diesem Fall ein Java-System. Die einzelnen Komponenten des Basissystems werden toolgestützt und somit automatisiert in die jeweiligen Komponenten des Zielsystems überführt.
[Basis- und Zielsystem]
Nachfolgend wird die Migration der einzelnen Komponenten des Basissystems beschrieben:

Migration der Programme

Die Migration der Programme erfolgt je nach Basis- und Zielsprache mit folgenden Tools:
  • [CoJaC] CoJaC (COBOL to Java Converter): Mit CoJaC können COBOL-Programme nach Java konvertiert werden. In den COBOL-Quelltext eingebettete, statische SQL-Anweisungen werden in dynamische SQL-Anweisungen überführt. Ein Java-Laufzeitsystem stellt die notwendigen Methoden zur Verwaltung der Datenbankverbindung, zum Datenbankzugriff, zum Lesen und Schreiben von Daten in die Hostvariablen sowie zur Fehlerbehandlung zur Verfügung.
  • C2C (COBOL to COBOL Converter): Mit C2C können COBOL-Programme in einen anderen COBOL-Dialekt konvertiert werden. Dabei werden inkompatible Befehle und Schnittstellen (z.B. File-Schnittstellen, Middleware u.ä.) in Abstimmung mit dem Kunden angepasst.
  • S2C (SPL to C++ Translator): S2C ermöglicht die Konvertierung von SPL-Programmen (System Programming Language) nach C++.
  • S2P (SDF to Perl Translator): Für die Konvertierung von SDF-Prozeduren (System Dialog Facility) nach Perl steht das Tool S2P zur Verfügung. Die generierten Perl-Skripte nutzen ein Laufzeitsystem, welches wesentliche Eigenschaften des Basissystems (Arbeit mit Jobvariablen, User- und Jobswitches, ...) emuliert.

Migration der Datenbank und Files

[FiRe] Die unter BS2000 verwendeten Datenfiles werden bei der Migration nach Java in Datenbanktabellen umgesetzt. In Abstimmung mit dem Kunden werden LEASY-, ISAM- und ggf. auch SAM-Dateien mit unserem Tool FiRe automatisiert migriert. Die Struktur der Tabellen leitet sich aus der Datensatzstruktur ab, die in den COBOL-Programmen definiert ist. Das Laufzeitsystem kapselt die Datenbankzugriffe und stellt Methoden zur File-Arbeit bereit.

Alternativ bieten wir auch die Möglichkeit eines automatisierten Wechsels des Datenbanksystems inkl. Dialektmigration vorhandener SQL-Statements an, sollte bereits eine Datenbank vorhanden sein.

Migration der Middleware

Mit unserem Tool MidaS (Middleware als Service) kann die Middleware UTM (Universeller Transaktionsmonitor), die u.a. zur Steuerung der Dialogprogramme, zum Informationsaustausch und der Benutzerverwaltung dient, abgelöst werden. MidaS ist als Java-Webservice mit einer SOAP-Schnittstelle konzipiert. Es bildet die in den migrierten COBOL- bzw. Java-Servern benötigte Middleware-Funktionalität ab: Codieren/Decodieren und Weiterleiten der Message, Koordination der Aufruffolge der Dialogprogramme und Masken und Session-Verwaltung. MidaS kann als Standalone-Programm agieren, der Einsatz eines Application Servers wie WebSphere oder JBoss zur Steuerung ist somit nicht zwingend erforderlich.

Alternativ unterstützen wir auch einen automatisierten Wechsel auf ein anderes, kommerzielles Middleware-Produkt.

Migration der Masken

Für die Maskenmigration existieren je nach Kundenanforderung verschiedene, optionale Möglichkeiten:
  1. [MaTriX] Automatisierte Migration mit MaTriX: Die Masken können mit unserem Tool MaTriX automatisiert in Web2.0-basierte Oberflächen konvertiert werden.
  2. Neuentwicklung: Die Masken können je nach Kundenanforderung z.B. als Java Server Pages (JSP) neu entwickelt werden.
DOWNLOAD
[PDF] Datenblatt
[PDF] Projektbericht ITZBund
[PDF] Projektbericht Amadeus Germany