proetcon.de > Software Migration
Software Migration Toolbox COBOL-Java Migration Screen Mask Migration Data Migration BS2000 Migration HP NonStop Migration Program Analysis
[Migration paths]

SOFTWARE MIGRATION

Software migration is the transformation of antiquated software systems into modern hardware and operating systems using migration tools.

Software migration generally concerns all components of a legacy system (programs, screen masks, files, jobs, middleware, databases).

Software migration has lower project costs in comparison to a redevelopment. According to our experience the relation of software migration and redevelopment is 1:8. That means if you calculate 15 man-years (a quite usual size) for a migration project using transformation tools, the new development of the same program system will take 120 man-years.

The graphic shows the migration paths we support and the used software tools.

Professional software migration allows you to do the following: We have successfully carried out migration projects within their planned terms and budgets for over 20 years. These experiences influence current and future migration projects.
DOWNLOAD
All documents are in German.
[PDF] Article "Toolbasierte Software-Migration nach Plan"
[PDF] Article "Aus Alt mach Neu – automatisch! Migrationsprojekte erfolgreich planen und realisieren"
[PDF] Article "Methoden und Werkzeuge für die Software-Migration"

TOOLS AND TECHNOLOGIES

Software migration is only manageable with advanced migration tools and technologies.

Our unique selling point is our consequent use of scientific compiler-building methods in the development of technologies and tools, which allows for a high degree of automation to be reached. This in turn reduces the project duration, the project costs and the error rate in comparison with manual migrations. Our tools and technologies support all components of a migration project (programs, middleware, files/databases, screen masks, job control languages).

Each migration project is individual. The Toolbox for Software Migration that we developed allows for fast, flexible and cost-effective adaptation of migration tools to individual customers' requirements.

PATH OF A MIGRATION PROJECT

Each migration project follows a defined path. The study and the pilot project are some of the most important phases. The study represents the launch of a migration project and provides, among other things, the following results: The pilot project brings about a selected section for the verification of the chosen migration technology and tools. As a result, these components are readjusted if necessary.

RESEARCH

We conduct research in the fields of compiler technology and parser generating tools in close cooperation with universities and higher education institutes. Our migration technologies and tools are constantly being improved through these new scientific results.

proetcon.de > Software-Migration
Software-Migration Toolbox COBOL-Java-Migration Maskenmigration Datenmigration BS2000-Migration HP NonStop-Migration Programmanalyse
[Migrationspfade]

SOFTWARE-MIGRATION

Software-Migration ist die Überführung veralteter Software-Systeme in moderne Hardware und Betriebssysteme unter Nutzung von Migrationswerkzeugen.

Eine Software-Migration betrifft in der Regel alle Komponenten eines Legacy-Systems (Programme, Masken, Files, Jobs, Middleware, Datenbanken).

Der Vorteil einer Software-Migration gegenüber einer Neuentwicklung besteht im geringeren Aufwand. Projekterfahrungen belegen ein Verhältnis von 1:8. Umfasst ein Migrationsprojekt z.B. 15 Mannjahre (eine durchaus übliche Größe), dann ist bei einer Neuentwicklung mit ca. 120 Mannjahren zu rechnen.

Die Grafik zeigt die von uns unterstützten Migrationspfade und die dabei verwendeten Software-Werkzeuge.

Software-Migration professionell realisiert bedeutet: Wir realisieren seit 20 Jahren erfolgreich Migrationsprojekte im geplanten Zeitraum und mit geplantem Budget. Die dabei gewonnenen Erfahrungen fließen in aktuelle und zukünftige Migrationsprojekte ein.
DOWNLOAD
[PDF] Artikel "Toolbasierte Software-Migration nach Plan"
[PDF] Artikel "Aus Alt mach Neu – automatisch! Migrationsprojekte erfolgreich planen und realisieren"
[PDF] Artikel "Methoden und Werkzeuge für die Software-Migration"

WERKZEUGE UND TECHNOLOGIEN

Software-Migration ist nur beherrschbar mit ausgereiften Migrationswerkzeugen und -technologien.

Unser Alleinstellungsmerkmal besteht in der konsequenten Anwendung wissenschaftlicher Compilerbau-Methoden bei der Technologie- und Werkzeugentwicklung. Dadurch wird ein hoher Automatisierungsgrad erreicht. Das wiederum reduziert die Projektlaufzeit, die Projektkosten und die Fehlerrate gegenüber manuellen Migrationen. Unsere Werkzeuge und Technologien unterstützen alle Komponenten eines Migrationsprojektes (Programme, Middleware, Dateien/Datenbanken, Masken, Jobsteuersprachen).

Jedes Migrationsprojekt ist individuell. Mit der von uns entwickelten Toolbox für die Software-Migration werden Migrationswerkzeuge und -technologien schnell, flexibel und kostengünstig an individuelle Kundenbedürfnisse angepasst.

ABLAUF EINES MIGRATIONSPROJEKTES

Jedes Migrationsprojekt folgt einem definierten Ablauf. Wichtige Phasen sind dabei z.B. die Studie und das Pilotprojekt. Die Studie bildet dabei den Auftakt in einem Migrationsprojekt und liefert u.a. die Ergebnisse: Das Pilotprojekt realisiert an einer ausgewählten Teilmenge einen vertikalen Durchstich zur Verifikation der gewählten Migrationstechnologie und der verwendeten Werkzeuge. Im Ergebnis werden diese bei Notwendigkeit nachjustiert.

FORSCHUNG

Wir forschen auf dem Gebiet der Compilertechnik und der parsergenerierenden Werkzeuge in enger Zusammenarbeit mit Universitäten und Hochschulen. Durch neue wissenschaftliche Ergebnisse werden unsere Migrationstechnologien und -werkzeuge ständig weiterentwickelt.